Reading for the course………

I wanted to share a few images of the sort of reading material I have explored though the course.

I have endeavoured to make my reading varied as to art type.  Having already a leaning towards Fine Art and Print Making as well as Textiles; I wanted to incorporate reading around a variety of practices, which could influence me in a number of ways.

Obviously within my Harvard Reference lists I have added the sources I have found, yet I thought I could highlight a few in visual form:

DSC_0027_3 On the left, we see books on Tracy Emin, Conceptual Art, The Turner Prize and Artists Studios.  These books in particular were read at the time I was creating my essay for Assignment three and also an essay within the exercises in Assignment four.  They helped me to see where concepts and ideas sit within a contemporary setting.  Looking at artists which who were out of my comfort zone, such as Tracy Emin; helped me to see out of the box.  I felt I appreciated their core ideas much more, after reading around them.

DSC_0029_3

Above:  I needed to fulfil my creative needs, as well as my intellectual ones.  Thus I read much on the actual formulation of sketchbooks in both a fine art and textile manner.  Technique research was also vital, thus magazines like Cloth paper Scissors gave an art interest to my working practice.

Of course I looked at many textile art related books too, such as:

Embellished – Karen Nicol

Hand stitch Perspectives – Alice Kettle and Jane McKeating

Machine stitch Perspectives – Alice Kettle and Jane McKeating

Mark Making in Textile art – Helen Parrot

Stitched Stories – Cas Holmes

Textile Collage – Mandy Puttulo

Radical Thread – 62 Group

Books on writing and how to set out critique were also vital to keep my focus through essay writing.

Reflecting back on my reading, I am glad I stepped away from simply reading the list given from the OCA.  The variety of publications, along with a personal take too, helps to make my practice me.

The above listings are by no means a comprehensive list for all I have read, but serve as an example.

With thought to other students, I must mention how to be able to access books:

For my own practice, I would have found it possible to purchase all books for my own library.  So I had to make more effort, buying the ones I could afford, but also hounding libraries.

Be careful not to give up when one library says no.  I went between two libraries and found that one was more willing than the other.

For rare books which are expensive to purchase, it may be wise to try and ask for an inter-library loan.  This cost me £2.50 each time, but was worth it for priceless volumes, such as Hand Stitch Perspectives.

 

Leave a Reply

