Assignment Two (Option 2): Exercise 2.3: Using my Bee and Floral work in digital ways

Project 4:

Exercise 2.3 – Extending / testing / experimenting further with my designs in a digital format, using my Bee and floral designs from past exercises:

I have found You Tube tutorials very helpful.  They are not something I would have turned to normally, however they do a great job showing you visually how to make certain edits.  Some videos are made specifically for my version of Adobe, so that’s been useful, as every version works differently.

Reading ahead, I see that within Project 4, I may be looking into my previous work in a deeper way, seriously thinking about making prints and strong designs from my collated work so far.  As mentioned within Exercise 2.1, I have not as yet really concentrated on my floral designs from my past assignment one.  I feel that these could be developed further, so I now intend to have a look at those with an “embellished context”.   You may be aware that I actually developed my florals further during assignment one than I needed to.  Thus I have already embellished them in my own style.  The six embellished pieces are as below.  They have all already been edited within assignment one in Illustrator and Photo shop and have been embellished with fabrics, vintage pieces and sequins etc…..

u1u2

On reflection, I don’t like this method of photo merging in this context, as simply its too haphazard.

What can I do better?

Having now in my possession a few books on the process of Digital Design, I can visualise how to use the methods on my work.  I would like to create seamless repeats, where one pattern flows into another using this method.

Much time has previously been spent on looking at digital resources, such as Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator.  I would like to continue developing my understanding of these tools.  I realised through the previous project how brilliant they can be.  For example, my trials at repeat prints began by manually trying to “place” the images by hand using a photomerge tool.  Once I learned how to use the repeat and half drop repeat methods, this was not needed, as it was all done for me.  The prints I have looked at so far, have not needed to be seamless, as they don’t flow into each other as such.  For example, one artists work, such as a wallpaper design like this:

u3

One of my florals does have potential:

This one above, had been painted and collaged then scanned into my PC.  Then I used the book’s method to create a design which could fill any page, in other words, a repeatable design.

This was the only drawing in my collection which I felt had this seamless potential.  No, not perfect as noted, but this has been a great education for myself.  I now feel confident enough to work through the stages again with other drawings and complete this method.

7th December 2016

On reflection, after having now received my assessment result from my previous course and felt that I had lacked in risk taking, I have decided to pursue the above method again, with other digitised images of my work. You will remember my bees.  My tutor within his feedback from my first assignment, mentioned the lack of any colour on my backgrounds.  On first glance I thought that I had no images with coloured backgrounds to use as a repeat.  However on more careful viewing, I did do two bee trials with coloured and textured backgrounds. So these could be developed further and used as a repeat, so that I get practice with this technique.

I managed to delete the original one I used as a template, but basically I followed the same steps as above.  However, when looking at my bee drawings, I noticed they were on a slant.  Thus my repeat would also be on a diagonal slant.  I realised that this could be changed, by using the “free transform” tool….

Above you can observe the subtle changes to make this design a half drop repeat pattern.  It needed rotating and filling in with extra colour to make it appear straight, before I could begin to repeat it.  The design itself was originally a drawing of my “Healing Bees” as seen previously, however I played with it on Adobe to come up with the coloured background version.

Not 100% upright, yet this experiment has shown me what is possible to achieve with the “free transform” tool, something I have not tried before.

I wanted to try this another time, as I am a perfectionist and feel that the more I try the way of doing a repeat, the more seamless a result here I will get.  Yet this is not repetitive, as it is all new and part of my learning.  These tools such as “free transform” meant nothing to me, until I thought about seeing what they did.  Some of it is all a bit risk and see what happens if I am honest.

Other trials like the above, are documented in my physical work and extended word document learning log.

u12final rose.jpg

Leave a Reply

